Leeds Castle

I’m so totally spoiled that castles are starting to look the same to me. But I mean come on, get some variety will you? There’s only so many claustrophobic spiral towers and stone fortresses around gorgeous gardens without looking somewhat similar.

Leeds Castle

Actually a little different! It’s built on two islands in Kent among extremely vast lands. Walking through the surrounding land to reach it was a mix of walking through and English forest and tropical area. The gardens were stunning and the castle both imposing and beautiful.

Inside: standard castle. Dark, stone medieval parts, renovated up until about the ’30s. My favorite room: the Library. Complete with thousands of priceless books 🙂

The back gardens had a maze which you can imagine a bunch of college students had a field day with. We found a secret grotto, a stag statue (go stags), a half tower, and a cafe for lunch!

After the castle we went to Canterbury! I found this extremely cool obviously because of the Canterbury Tales and the fact that I live on Canterberry Court (yes, we Americans have changed the spelling, deal with it). It’s a lovely medieval town with the cathedral dominating the center. There is also a Roman museum with remnants from those days and a Paperchase where I was able to purchase the UK journal I was searching for.

All in all a good day.

Sorry for the short posts of late, but I’ve only got two and a half weeks left and I’m trying to cram as much in as I can while keeping up on the posts.

Cheers!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Leeds Castle

  1. WOW. This is amazing. I want to live in a castle one day *dreams of becoming a princess* :P.

Leave a Reply

